Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about the phenomenon of social networking sites.  My college roommate and I recently remembered getting our first e-mail addresses while we were students at Belmont University.  Now, I think that e-mail addresses are assigned along with a social security number when a baby leaves the hospital!

Every day it seems as if I discover some new networking site that someone else is using, and that always begs the question, “Do I need to do this?  Am I going to be left out/get behind if I don’t get involved now?”

As a writer, I make money by spending time on the computer.  I could spend the entire day on Facebook, but I choose not to because that would not be a productive use of my time.

So, I want to ask you, dear reader:  How do you feel about these so-called networking sites?  Do you participate?  Which ones have you found to be useful?  Do you find that they suck up all of your time, or are you able to use them responsibly?

It’s an interesting world in which we live, my friends.  There once was a time when all employers had to worry about wasting company time was computer solitaire…

