The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.  Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.  (Psalm 19:1-2, ESV)

 

Falling in love with Jesus … I can’t remember a time in my life when I did not know who Jesus is.  My earliest memories are filled with Sunday School lessons, children’s songs, and Bible story books that all told of the Savior.  Love for Jesus gradually grew in my heart as I grew older and learned more about the great love that He has for me.  Over time, He was drawing me to Himself with His indelible grace.

 

As a teenager, I found Him on many mountaintops … FCA camp, youth camp, discipleship retreats, Bible studies.  Through all of these experiences, I was learning to love His children and His Word.

 

The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul;

the testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple;

the precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart;

the commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes;

the fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever;

the rules of the Lord are true, and righteous altogether.  (Psalm 19:7-9, ESV)

 

One of the most valuable gifts I have ever been given is the knowledge of how to study God’s Word for myself.  Throughout my teenage years, our church invested in teaching us the Bible.  We learned to have a daily quiet time, to memorize Scripture, to journal, to pray, and to take sermon notes.  Our youth teachers took seriously their jobs to teach us to become productive citizens … not just of the United States, but also of God’s Kingdom.

 

God’s Word is valuable … more precious than anything else we will ever own.  It guides, protects, encourages, sustains, uplifts, and disciplines.

 

Who can discern his errors?  Declare me innocent from hidden faults.  Keep back your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me!  Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression.  (Psalm 19:12-13, ESV)

 

While God has protected me from so many potential dangers in this world, His Word corrects me daily.  With the psalmist, we acknowledge that without the Word, we would not know our sins.  Through knowledge of the Scriptures, we are made aware of areas where we fail Him.  We know how and when we do not live up to His standards.

 

I have fallen ever more in love with the Savior through my time spent in His Word.  It is there that we learn the beautiful story of redemption … a fallen world, never able to live up to God’s standards, and the Savior who came to redeem us from death and destruction.

 

It is through His Word that He speaks words of love, forgiveness, and kindness to me.  I find sustaining faith through learning more about God and His marvelous work.

 

Through teaching His Word, imparting that Word to others, I learn about His long-suffering nature.  I learn about the grace that He extends when I fail Him.  I learn how to become the godly woman that He desires me to be.

 

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.  (Psalm 19:14, ESV)

 

My prayer is that through this love affair with my Savior, He would make me ever more like Himself.  May I grow into the holy woman He desires me to be.  May my speech and my attitudes be pleasing to Him.  May I learn to love Him more.

