The Shepherd to Much-Afraid: “Much-Afraid, I could do what you wish.  I could carry you all the way up to the High Places myself, instead of leaving you to climb there.  But if I did, you would never be able to develop hinds’ feet, and become my companion and go where I go.  If you will climb to the heights this once with the companions I have chosen for you, even though it may seem a very long and in some places a very difficult journey, I promise you that you will develop hinds’ feet.”  (From Hinds’ Feet on High Places by Hannah Hurnard)

Isn’t that just like us?  We want Jesus to remove all of the difficult days and trials that come our way – and then we want to experience all of the blessings that He has to give us at the end of the journey.  We want it all!

Yet, just as with Much-Afraid, the Shepherd tells us that He has given us all that we need to walk the path set before us, even though the road may be rocky and difficult and even dangerous.

The path and the means have been specifically given to us so that we might develop our own “hinds’ feet,” feet that can quickly and easily scale even the most difficult of mountains.  Our journey with the Great Shepherd transforms us in ways we could never have imagined, so we must continue to trust His wisdom when the circumstances seem beyond our abilities.

