I have made some references in recent weeks to Hannah Hurnard’s classic allegory Hinds’ Feet on High Places.  Hurnard tells the story of Much-Afraid, who journeys with the Shepherd and her two companions of Sorrow and Suffering from the Valley of Humiliation to the High Places.  Much-Afraid starts out as ugly, crippled, and very much afraid, but along the journey finds healing, hope, and love.

This not the first time that I have read this story, but I am always moved by the way the Shepherd leads Much-Afraid to become like her new name of Grace and Glory.

From the end of the story: “So remember this; as long as you are willing to be Acceptance-with-Joy and Bearing-in-Love, you can never again become crippled, and you will be able to go wherever I lead you.”

The same words apply to us as we follow the Shepherd on our journey to the High Places.

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in God my Savior.  The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of deer, he enables me to go on the heights.  Habakkuk 3:17-19

