This week, we were able to see one of my favorite bands, Indelible Grace, perform live at a local church.  If you’re not familiar with Indelible Grace, you should be!  They take really old hymn lyrics and set the words to very modern music so that the Truth expressed by these hymn writers can be passed along to current and future generations.

One of my favorite songs that they perform is “Arise, My Soul, Arise,” written by Charles Wesley.  I just love the phrase in the first verse, “Before the throne my Surety stands.”  Webster’s defines surety as such things as certainty, assurance, and guarantee, but the final definition is the best: one who has become legally liable for the debt, default, or failure in duty of another.  Isn’t that a beautiful picture and a wonderful word to describe what Christ has done for all who believe in Him?

You can watch and listen to the song here.

Arise my soul arise, shake off your guilty fears

The bleeding sacrifice, in my behalf appears

Before the throne my Surety stands

Before the throne my Surety stands.

My name is written on His hands.

Arise (arise), Arise (arise), Arise,

Arise my soul, arise.

Arise (arise), Arise (arise), Arise,

Arise my soul, arise.

He ever lives above, for me to intercede

His all-redeeming love, His precious blood to plead

His blood atoned for every race

His blood atoned for every race

And sprinkles now the throne of grace

(Chorus)

My God is reconciled, His pard’ning voice I hear

He owns me for His child, I can no longer fear

With confidence I now draw nigh

With confidence I now draw nigh

And Father, Abba, Father cry!

(Chorus)

