Today I feel a little like Martha of Bethany in Luke 10:38-42.  In verse 40, Luke says, “But Martha was distracted with much serving.”  Have you ever felt like that?

Christmas is a busy time of the year.  We have parties, performances, and more parties to plan and to attend.  Today, my attention has been drawn to various upcoming events.  Our calendar for the week is full.  On Thursday, I even need to be in two places at the same time!

Like Martha, I am distracted by much serving.  Jesus responded to Martha by saying, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and troubled about many things, but one thing is necessary.  Mary has chosen the good portion, which will not be taken away from her” (vs. 41-42).  I can so relate to Martha!

But while Martha was anxious about all of the details, Mary had chosen to sit at Jesus’ feet.  She was learning from the Great Teacher, and worshiping her Savior.  She had chosen wisely.

I really wanted to bless you today with First Call’s “The New Twelve Days of Christmas,” but like several other of my pursuits today, this didn’t work out as I intended.  If you get a chance to listen to this song, it’s a wonderful, humorous look at the holidays.

On the twelfth day of Christmas a vision came to me…

…twelve diets slimming,

…eleven stockings brimming,

…ten trees for trimming,

…nine cash dispersals,

…eight choir rehearsals,

…seven plates of dressing,

…six cards with blessings,

…five shopping malls,

…four manger scenes,

…three fruitcakes,

…two evergreens,

…and a child born to set the world free.

