This is the story of the Golden Gnome Santa, or GGS for short.  The GGS first made his appearance at a particular Christmas party at the beginning of December in 2007.  He was hidden in one of these packages for a “Dirty Santa” exchange.

Grace Class Dirty Santa Gifts

Grace Class Dirty Santa Gifts

 

No one knew just how “dirty” that exchange would become.

 While dusting my bookshelves a few weeks after the afore-mentioned party, I found this:

 

Where I found the GGS...

Where I found the GGS...

 

I felt it necessary that I should return him to his rightful owner.  I understand from first-hand reports that she was overcome with emotion when she found him staring at her from her own bookshelf one day in the early spring.

Now, I distinctly remembered who actually received the GGS during the gift exchange.  And I remembered how enthusiastic she was about using the GGS in her own Christmas decorations.  He is, of course, the most beautiful GGS we had ever seen.  So, how could he have found his way to my bookshelf?

So, imagine my surprise when I arrived at AHS last Thursday to find the GGS staring at me from the top of the piano!  How could he have made his way to the auditorium of the high school?  Oh, that crafty GGS!

So, the GGS has found his way back to my house.  I have a strong feeling that he won’t be with me forever, but one can never know when the GGS will leave one’s possession, or where he will land next.  It may be weeks, it may be months.

Who knows?  Maybe he’ll find his way to your Christmas decorations…

