Whew … it’s good to be back!  We had a wonderful week of Christmas, spent lots of time in the car, and what time we weren’t in the car we spent eating!

I had hoped to be back to blogging two days ago, but you know about good intentions.  Monday was spent doing all of the things you need to do after being away from home for five days – laundry, returning e-mails, etc.  Yesterday (Tuesday), I again had good intentions for lots of things.  However, I spent a good portion of the day playing Pathwords, which has become our new favorite way to totally waste an hour or two, and loading music onto my new mp3 player.  And, yes, I did spend the day in my pajamas!

So, today is the day.  The final day of 2008.  We don’t have any major plans – a 5:00 communion service at our church, and then it’s home to make chocolate chip cookies and watch movies.  Oh, yes – Vanderbilt plays in the Music City Bowl this afternoon.  I have arranged my day so that I can be in front of the television at about 2:30.  Go ‘Dores!

What about you?  Do you like to go out and celebrate on New Year’s Eve, or do you prefer to spend it at home with those closest to you?  How will you ring in 2009?

Regardless of how you plan to celebrate tonight, I leave you and the year that was with this traditional Gaelic blessing:

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

