Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.  Ephesians 5:15-16

I have decided that if I am going to make a resolution for 2009, this is it – I want to learn how to redeem – “make the best use of” – the time.

How many days have I wasted going in circles – not grouping errands together, returning e-mails as I get them and not all at once, cleaning little bits of the house here and there, playing on Facebook five and six times a day?

I used to feel fairly disciplined about the use of my time, but after we moved two years ago, all that discipline seemed to go out the window.  Of course, I had a productive day here and there.  But I’m talking about regularly having time for unexpected interruptions, feeling in control of my schedule, and not pushing the envelope on deadlines.

With that in mind, I propose a few simple changes:

  • Get up on time!
  • Start my day in the Word.
  • Be disciplined about my use of e-mail and the Internet (including social networking sites!).
  • Be consistent with daily exercise.
  • Follow a schedule.

I know that I won’t be able to do every part of this every day, but with God’s help I am going to try.

What about you?  Do you struggle to redeem the time God has given you?  If not, how do you do it?

