Yes, those are tiaras in front of the punch bowl!

Yes, those are tiaras in front of the punch bowl!

No, I didn’t go to prom this year – I think I’m just a little past the age limit!

However, I did stay up until 12:30 am, and I did have a date, and I did have a fun time with high school girls!

We love having our teenage friends to our house, and when we heard that a couple of them would not be attending their prom, I just had to do a little something.

A big cookie!

A big cookie!

I’m sure that some folks might wonder why we try to give some of our time to these kids.  We don’t have kids in the youth group, and Chris isn’t a youth or student minister. 

We do it because we hope that, someday when these girls are grown and have homes of their own, they will remember that wacky minister of education and his wife who let them come over at all hours and play games and talk and eat and drink hot chocolate.

We also do it because that’s what was done for us by this lady.

Debi V.

Debi V.

She opened the parsonage door anytime we came knocking.  We were always welcome in her home, and we knew it.

I realize I keep coming back to this question, but I think it’s an important one:  Who have you been investing your time in lately?  What kind of memories are you making with others so that they will want to “pay it forward” some day?

