I had lunch yesterday with a good friend who was talking about the concept of “waiting.”  All our lives, we find ourselves waiting for something – waiting to finish school, to get married, to have children, to find the perfect job, for the test results, to retire, to die…

Because I was an English major (Once an English major, always an English major.  What was true in Narnia is true for English majors, too!), as I thought that afternoon about the idea of “waiting,” I couldn’t help but think of Samuel Beckett’s Waiting for Godot.

In Beckett’s play, Estragon and Vladimir are always waiting for the unseen Godot.  The thing is, Godot never comes.  At the end of Act One, a young boy comes to tell the pair that Godot has been held up but will surely come tomorrow.  The same thing happens at the end of Act Two, which ends the play.

As Christians, I think that sometimes we feel like Estragon and Vladimir – caught up in a life of non-sense but constantly waiting for God.  We find ourselves surrounded by foolish people and events, and wonder where the meaning and purpose is in our lives.

Yet, in our waiting, may we be more like King David in Psalm 40:1-3

I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry.  He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.  He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.  Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

