Last night, Chris and I attended Magnificent Monday at Buck Run Baptist Church in Frankfort, Kentucky.  We had lots of reasons for going – the pastor of BRBC, Hershael York, was one of Chris’ professors and has become a good friend.  The preacher for the evening was Don Whitney, another seminary professor and friend.

And the musical guest for the evening was Andy Gullahorn, a friend of mine from my earliest days of college at Belmont University.

Dr. Whitney is a fantastic preacher.  I always love hearing what the Lord is saying through him, and last night was no exception.  He is really great at taking difficult theological concepts and helping the average person in the pew (like myself) understand what the Word is saying to us.

Last night he preached on Romans 8:31 – What then shall we say to these things?  If God is for us, who can be against us?

Because of the things that Paul mentions in the verses leading up to this one, we who are in Christ can know that God is for us – that everything He brings into our lives, even the difficult things, are ultimately for our good and for His glory.

We know that the Holy Spirit prays for us when we don’t know what to pray.  We know that God chooses to love us, even though we sin and violate His perfect law.  We know that even in our sin He has made a way for us to have a relationship with Him through Jesus Christ.

And because of all of these things, we can know that God is for us and not against us.  Isn’t that a wonderful, comforting thought?  Even in the difficult days of life, which will come to everyone, God is still for us.  He is refining us, making us holy and fit vessels for His service.

At the conclusion of the service, Andy sang the title song from his wife’s most recent album – Jill Phillip’s All the Good Things.  The song was a perfect summation of the message.  Go buy the album so you can listen to it for yourself.

Every once in a while the world stops spinning enough
That I can take a step back and get the picture
I see the twists and the turns, I see the patterns they form
I see how perfect they are and I remember

All the good things
All the good things
All the good things you’ve done for me

Though the feeling is real I know it’s fleeting to feel
One day I’ll forget you are here and start to wonder
In that season of doubt, You’ll still be showering me
With blessings I can’t see, that can’t be numbered

All the good things
All the good things
All the good things You’ve done for me

Forgive me for my shortsighted look at this world
Where you keep proving that you know what you’re doing

If I could see like you do with your perspective view
The fires I’m walking through would look much different
I’d see those difficult days for who they made me become
And I would count them among

All the good things

