Yesterday afternoon went almost perfectly.  Henry was content playing with his toys in the floor most of the afternoon.  I was able to make a cup of hot chocolate (raspberry – a personal indulgence), listen to the rain hit the roof outside, and finish an article four days before the deadline (a major accomplishment these days).  I even had supper ready early!

My Facebook status yesterday told the story: “Drinking raspberry hot chocolate, finishing an article, listening to the rain, while Henry plays in the floor. Not bad for a Monday!”  I decided to post this status because I really did feel like it was a good afternoon.  Not every day goes this smoothly, and I’m thankful when one does!

But, through the comments, I was reminded that this is what we do – we put the best of ourselves on Twitter and Facebook (and blogs and other social media).  No one wants to read about how Henry had a meltdown right before dinner, how he spit up in three places on the carpet, or about any of the other “yucky” parts of the day.  And this creates a struggle for us.

I don’t ever want to be a complainer.  We all know these people.  The glass is always half empty.  Nothing is ever good enough or done the right way.  I certainly don’t need to air my complaints to my 700 Facebook friends.  But you do need to know that my life isn’t perfect.  Bad days happen.  Yes, the good days outweigh the bad days.  I enjoy my life.  I love my family.  I love my church.  Each day is different, and brings its own excitement, and that’s the way I like it.

But, on Facebook, we can be whomever we want to be.  We can begin to envy the lives of others because we only see the big things – the good days, the vacations, the important stuff.  And this can begin to foster a lack of contentment in our own hearts.

So, while I may not tell you all the things that go wrong in a day, rest assured that they do.  Let’s work to encourage one another to enjoy the lives that God has given us, and strive to be content with what we have in the season of life that we are.  Let’s strive to be a little more real with one another while still enjoying the days that bring hot chocolate, rain, and a happy baby!

