Today, I made mango puree and butternut squash puree for Henry, as well as a pasta salad for us.  I felt like I was running a marathon in the kitchen … and we’re not even eating supper at home tonight!  One idea that has become increasingly more important as I have committed to making Henry’s food (and not buying the stuff in the jar) is “everything in its place.”  Before I start a new dish, I get out all of the equipment that I will need, prep all of the food, and then start cooking.

I save lots of minutes in the kitchen by making sure that I am ready to start before I actually start.  As I was thinking about what I wanted to say here this week, I had a couple of other ideas rolling around in my head, and maybe I’ll come back to those next week.  But today I’ve really thought about what it would mean to my days if I started each day with “everything in its place.”

I already try to go to bed with the house straight and the kitchen sink empty.  That’s a little tip I learned a long time ago over from the FlyLady.  (If you struggle with keeping a clean house, check her out!)  I keep a “to-do” list for each day in my calendar, and I can add to it all week as things come up.  I make all of Henry’s bottles for the day first thing after breakfast each morning.

Those are just a few of the ways that I keep things in order.  I also know that starting my day with a few minutes of reading my Bible and prayer are essential to keeping things in their place.  When I start the day this way, I am more likely to confront challenges with a Christ-like attitude than if I convince myself that I just don’t have the time.

If you are like me and you have an infant or toddler, you know that we just don’t have time for an hour-long Bible study anymore!  Those days will come again someday, but in the meantime, we must make the best use of the time that we do have.

 I don’t always manage to have everything in place.  Lots of days I fail at managing my household and my time.  But, with a plan, things can go a little more smoothly, and I can confront the unexpected as it arises.

Because I had everything ready to go, I have time today to write this blog.  We’ll be leaving for church soon, and we have time to spare.  Things don’t always go this well, but I can be thankful that today they are!

(As I was wrapping up this blog, I got a call to sub in the preschool choir tonight.  See – I did need those extra minutes!)

