At the beginning of November, I decided to participate in the “Days of Thanksgiving” going around Facebook.  Each day, I have tried to come up with at least one thing for which I am thankful.  I don’t often participate in these trends on Facebook, but this year, I find myself in a season where I struggle to always be thankful, and I knew that this would be a good exercise.

Today, two days before Thanksgiving, I want to take a few minutes to list some of the “big” things for which I am thankful this year:

  • Grace and mercy through Christ, without whom none of the rest of this list would be possible.
  • My husband – my best friend, secret-keeper, father of my son, most trusted partner.
  • My son – God graciously answered our prayers last year at his birth, and I treasure every day with him.
  • Our material blessings – while we are not wealthy, and couponing is now more than just a hobby, we have enough to meet all of our needs, and a few of our wants.
  • Family – as we are struggling with the changing health needs of some of our family members, we are thankful for the times of good health and the memories that we have with them.

During this difficult season, I am thankful for the support offered from those friends and family members who have taken extra time to call, e-mail, and text, letting us know that they are thinking of us and praying for us.  If you are reading this, know that any time I see a message from you, it brightens my day.

As you eat your turkey and dressing this year (or whatever your meal of choice may be), I hope that you will also take the time to think of the ways that God has blessed you this year, whether they are big things or small.  Regardless of the size, we know that all our blessings come straight from God.

Happy Thanksgiving!

