I would have despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and let your heart take courage; yes, wait for the Lord. Psalm 27:13-14.

Henry loves to watch birds. He gets so excited to look out the window and see just one bird in the yard. “I see birdy! I see birdy! TWO birdies!”

Bird-watching has become a good opportunity to remind Henry and myself that God cares for the birds and for us, too.

This is a “lean” season for us and for so, so many of our friends. Just this week I have talked with people who have lost jobs, whose husbands have left, and whose family members are extremely sick. Gas prices, food prices, and insurance prices are all going up. We are surrounded by social media, and yet many are lonelier than ever with the loss of real friendships.

I pray that this is a season of abundance for you. But if it is not, take heart with the psalmist – “Wait for the Lord; be strong and let your heart take courage…” And know you are not alone. We best navigate this life in community, and there’s a good chance that others are experiencing the same things you are.

Pray for one another. Love on one another. Wait for the goodness of the Lord.

