A few weeks ago, I wrote about how I believe that God is preparing us for something.  I am dissatisfied with the status quo.  I want to find myself engaged in and excited about ministry and missions.  God is clearing out some spaces to make room for something new.

I want to know who God wants me to be when I grow up.

But that epiphany came a few weeks ago, and I am here to tell you that I don’t feel any closer to having the answer to all of my questions yet.  I’m still not sure what direction God is leading, but the desire to be more of who He is calling me to be remains.  So, what now?

What do I do while I wait on Him?

I am reading The Resolution for Women by Priscilla Shirer (from the makers of the movie Fireproof and Courageous), and here’s what she says:

The best way to begin is by being faithful to what He has set before you right now.  Sense the stirring in your soul as God’s Spirit quickens you to see what He’s called you to do today.  Then pursue it at the expense of all else.  Unashamedly.  Diligently.  Faithfully.

In other words, “do the next thing.”  Until God reveals His plans, I am choosing to do the things that are before me today, and to do them to the best of my ability.  Some of them may seem mundane to you – clean bathrooms, change diapers, fix lunch.  Yet, if this is what He is giving me for today, then I am blessed by these things, and I worship the Creator of my life by doing them with all that I am.

As I serve my Savior by faithfully doing what He gives me each day, I have faith that He will continue to let me in on what is next.  I am a naturally introverted type, and the One who Created me knows that I can’t handle too much at one time!  Today, He has called me to at least two tasks that take me out of my comfort zone.  Who knows what tomorrow may bring?

God does.  And, until He lets me know, I’ll continue to do the next thing.

