Henry turned two in July.

He also became picky about what he will eat, throws temper tantrums when he does not get his way, and says “no” a lot.

So, I correct and discipline a lot.  “We do not throw food on the floor.  If you are finished, just tell me.”  “No, you may not use the markers on the bed.”  “I’m sorry you don’t like hamburger today, even if you ate an entire burger yesterday.  It’s what we are having for dinner.”

Get the idea?  These conversations take place several times each day.  Some days I find myself exhausted at the end of the day, not from physical work, but from the emotional pull of constantly reminding my son how he should behave.

God has really been prodding my heart and mind about a lot of things lately – what the Church should be and do, what I as a Christian and as a member of my local congregation need to do and how I should do it.  In all of my thinking and praying, I keep returning to Matthew 25:31-46.

I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine [the hungry, the thirsty, the stranger, the beggar, the sick, the imprisoned], you did for me. (Matthew 25:40)

 As I was re-reading this passage this week, I began to wonder, does God ever grow weary of telling me the same things over and over?  Does He tire of telling me to do the things that I already know He has commanded?  Things like:

  • Love God and neighbor (Luke 10:27)
  • Act justly, love mercy, walk humbly (Micah 6:8)
  • Stay connected to Jesus, the vine (John 15:6)
  • Serve one another in humility (Philippians 2:3-4)
  • Do good (Titus 3:8)
  • Care for the downtrodden and less fortunate (Matthew 25)

I know that God wants me to obey these commands (and more).  He has given me clear instruction in the Bible, His Word and the authority for our lives. 

Fortunately for me, God has not yet given up on molding me in His image.  I have a lot to learn, and I know that I won’t obey perfectly.  But He is calling and directing my heart to greater service and abandon for Him.

