We have been super-busy for the last five weeks, spending four out of five weekends away from home and still managing to take part in all the crazy that normally dominates our lives the rest of the week, so I’m afraid my brain has been on strike the past few days.  Today you have a list.  Please don’t stop reading because you think it’s going to be boring (although maybe it will be).  This blog was established for community, and I hope you’ll read my list of happy things, and maybe share some of your own.  Let’s get to know one another!

  1. “Jesus, Friend of Sinners” by Casting Crowns.  I have a love/hate relationship with Christian music and Christian radio.  We go back and forth a lot, and unfortunately, there’s just not a lot of good things to say about the state of the industry.  This song is the exception.  This is who we are called to be.
  2. ABC Jesus Loves Me.  To say that I am homeschooling Henry would be a great stretch of the imagination, but the two-year-old curriculum on this site gives us extra activities now that the weather is turning cooler, and some structure to the things that I am trying to teach him.  If you still have littles at home, check it out.  Best part?  It’s free!
  3. Jen Hatmaker.  Her books have changed my thinking and shaken me up so much that I don’t know what to do.
  4. Starbucks’ Salted Caramel Mocha.  So, so good.  Unfortunately, our local Starbucks does not have a drive-thru window, and I’m not dragging the two-year-old in and out of the car just for a cup of coffee.  Want to be my new best friend?  Get me one.
  5. The Jesus Storybook Bible by Sally Lloyd-Jones.  Henry and I are slowly working through the days of creation with the curriculum mentioned above, and we are using this children’s Bible.  He loves it, and so do I.  Can Sally Lloyd-Jones be my friend?
  6. This recipe for pulled chicken.  This may be the easiest crockpot recipe ever, and it is so good.  You have to try it.
  7. New (to me) blogs – (in)courage (online community for women), Story Warren (helping foster holy imagination in children), Redeemed Reader (helping parents raise Christian readers).  And, although it is not new to me or to the Internet, The Rabbit Room is still a wonderful site for a creative Christian community.  I want to be them when I grow up. (As a side note, Redeemed Reader is going to do a read-a-long of The Hobbit in November.  If anyone local would be interested in a sort of informal book club to follow along with them, let me know?)
  8. Caramel apple coffee cake.  Not nearly as easy as the pulled chicken, but so worth it.  Your people will thank you.
  9. Laura Childs’ mystery series.  Certainly not award-winning literature, but these little paperback mysteries are my way to escape, if only for 10 minutes.  Guilty pleasure (made even better if I had a slice of coffee cake and a salted caramel mocha!).
  10. Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood.  Yep, I’m sap, but Henry genuinely loves it too.  And hearing him sing with Daniel Tiger at the end – “I’ll be back, when the day is new.  And, I’ll have more ideas for you…”?  Priceless.

What about you?  What are some things that you can share with me that I should know about?

(I wanted to work something in about “buying school supplies” and a “bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils,” but just couldn’t make it work.  But know, dear reader, that I would send you that bouquet – and a mocha.  I love fall.)

