Tuesday, December 11, 2012 

We don’t see the New Testament church hording the feast for themselves, gorging, getting fatter and fatter and asking for more; more Bible studies, more sermons, more programs, classes, training, conferences, information, more feasting for us.  At some point, the church stopped living the Bible and decided just to study it, culling the feast parts and whitewashing the fast parts.  We are addicted to the buffet, skillfully discarding the costly discipleship required after consuming … All this is for me.  My goodness, my blessings, my privileges, my happiness, my success. (Jen Hatmaker in 7)

Prayer focus – Spend some time with God today, and ask Him to show you ways that you may be keeping the “feast” of life in Christ for yourself.  Honestly ask yourself: Am I actively involved in the lives of lost people?  Do I have some venue each week for sharing and living the gospel in front of others?  Are all of the people with whom I associate just like me in every way?  Am I engaging my community in meaningful and active ways for the sake of the gospel of Christ?

