More about Jesus would I know, more of His grace to others show…

I need more of Jesus before I can have more, be more, do more.  In the old hymn, we sing that to know more about Jesus, we first show more grace to others.  And just when I am struggling with the whole “denying self” thing…

I want to believe that I have learned this, but God shows me time and again how completely selfish I am.  I do want more, but more of the wrong things – more possessions, more attention, more of ME and MY – when what I really need is more GRACE for OTHERS.

More of His saving fullness see, more of His love who died for me.

The key to more of Jesus is less of me – to know the fullness of His salvation and love.  If I really understood the depths of His work on the cross, would I have such trouble laying aside my own desires?

More about Jesus in His Word, holding communion with my Lord…

The Bible, God’s Word … THE place for more about Jesus.  How can we know Him more, come to appreciate all He has done on our behalf, and rid ourselves of ourselves if we don’t read the very words He has given to us?  He tells us His own story, preserved through generations, wars, persecution, and half-hearted Christians.

Hearing His voice in ev’ry line, making each faithful saying mine.

Being a stay-at-home mom with a 2 1/2-year-old boy does not make for long stretches of quality “quiet” time, but I am learning to fit in time in the Word where I can, taking in small bites rather than large chunks.  The toddler years are only a short season of life that will end all-too quickly, but that’s no excuse for neglecting His Word.  I read scripture with Henry, and we memorize verses together.  He may be little, but he can learn more than you might think!**

More about Jesus on His throne, riches in glory all His own!

More of His kingdom’s sure increase, more of His coming, Prince of peace.

More hiding God’s Word in my heart, more communion in prayer, more following His steps.  More about Jesus.

**We are using the material found at ABC Jesus Loves Me this year.  Each week includes a Bible story and memory verse.

“More About Jesus,” words by Eliza E. Hewitt.

