In the past 24 hours I have washed, dried, folded and ironed laundry; written lesson plans for Kidz Choir; cleaned the kitchen; practiced piano music for a local high school chamber choir; worked on a magazine article; played with, fed, and bathed one boy-child; slept; gotten up four times in the night with said child who was sick; washed sheets from every bed in this house (see previous point), along with all of our pajamas; and scrubbed the bathrooms (also related to sick child).

At 1:00 pm on Wednesday afternoon, the last load of unexpected laundry is finally in the machine and my little guy (who seems to be feeling much better) is finally asleep in his bed.

And I sit here wondering why it feels like I haven’t gotten anything done the past two days.

I came to motherhood a bit later than some. I was 34 years old before we were blessed with Henry – living through the little years when many of my high school friends were sending their own kids off to high school.  Before Henry was born, I had worked in various academic settings, becoming known for things like my organizational skills and time management.  One of the highest compliments I have ever received came from Dr. Bruce Ware, who called me “unflappable” (I had to look it up.  It means “calm in a crisis.”)

I have always loved making and completing to-do lists.  I thrive most when setting things in order.

And then came Henry.  So many days I feel like I am spinning my wheels.  I clean up one area only to have another destroyed.  The laundry piles up, the dishes demand to be washed, supper must be cooked, the groceries must be bought.  Life is barely controlled chaos, and many days I feel like I am getting nothing done in a hurry.

But one thing I know is this: in the middle of motherhood, messes, and mayhem, God is redeeming these days for His glory.  Mothering a little boy has an impact on the Kingdom as I teach him Bible stories, songs about Jesus, and how to storm the world for Christ.  Faithfulness in the supposedly mundane areas of life will teach him much about God’s care and provision.  Even when I can’t see how God is working in our lives, I trust that He is.

In The Jesus Storybook Bible Sally Lloyd-Jones says, “It’s what God has been doing from the beginning, of course.  Taking the nothing and making it everything.  Taking the emptiness and filling it up.  Taking the darkness and making it light.”

Regardless of your season of life, the hours, days, and weeks can seem mundane and unimportant.  Take heart.  God is in the business of making something out of nothing.

