My two-year-old looks so much like his dad, but he acts so much like me.  This morning, as I was still in bed drinking coffee and checking Facebook/Twitter/Email, here’s what I heard coming from the living room:

“Daddy, I want some milk.”

“Daddy, I want the iPad.”

“Daddy, I want…”

And as I was considering how to keep an only child from becoming a spoiled brat, I realized how much his words mirror my own heart.

“God, I want the career/family/job she does.”

“God, I want a new car/TV/carpet.”

“God, I want all the things that I want, and I want them right now. Amen.”

I want to be able to say that I am learning to be content.  I want to strive like Paul to be content in all circumstances (Phil. 4:11).  And believe me, I am learning more and more about how good I have it.  People live within one mile from my house who do not know where they will get their next meal.  Nothing that I want is a matter of survival.  God has blessed us by caring for ALL of our physical needs.

But the world convincingly sells the lie that we have to be like everyone else.  And we who claim Christ can buy into that lie just as easily as those who do not know Him.

I don’t have all the answers here.  I am struggling with having a God-driven passion to follow His will for my life with abandon, and with not pursuing my own desires for things that may not necessarily be bad – just not God’s best for me right now.  And with knowing the difference between the two.

So, here’s what I’m going to do.  I’m going to pray and read His Word.  I’m seeking wise counsel from friends who know me well.  I’m weighing every decision and commitment carefully.  And, I’ll pray and study some more.

And I know that God will show up with an answer.  He always does.

