Some days I feel so terribly insignificant.  I am a stay-at-home-mom and the wife of a minister in a small city in Kentucky.  I live in a small-ish house in an average neighborhood.  I serve through the ministries of my church, take my son to story time at the library, and try to keep my house clean and the laundry caught up.

I know people who are actually doing world-changing stuff – publishing books, leading large ministries, standing for the gospel and Truth in a world that is increasingly antagonistic to the message of the Bible, and teaching future pastors and scholars.  When we visit a larger city, I can feel the energy of people working, doing, accomplishing.  My life seems very small in comparison.

But, if the Bible is true, then these words are not just for those who are out front, but for me as well:

And who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?  Esther 4:14

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you.  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.  Jeremiah 29:11-13

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.  Philippians 1:6

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

God has given me promises in His Word to let me know that my days are not insignificant in His sight.  I am raising my son to be a mighty warrior of the faith.  I minister to my community to try to lift just one person out of the cycle of poverty and all that comes with it.  I support my husband in his calling to be a servant in Christ’s church.

So, while I may not oversee an office staff, and I may not reach thousands with my blog, and my life may feel very small, I trust that the plan that God has for my life for today in the place and circumstances that He has given me is exactly what He wants me to do.

