So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get. These are desperate times! Don’t live carelessly, unthinkingly. Make sure you understand what the Master wants. (Eph. 5:15-17, The Message)

School is out, summer is here. The end of this school year is a reminder to me that my little guy will start preschool in August, and his time at home with me full-time is quickly coming to an end. In a little more than two months, he will begin to make friends independently from me and his father, and he will be influenced in ways that we cannot always control.  It is important to me to make this summer count.

Another version translates Ephesians 5:16 as “making the best use of the time.” Making the best use of our time, making the most of every chance we get … whether you have children or not, whatever your season of life, this should be our goal.

Not as easy as it sounds, is it?

I have great intentions. I try to self-regulate the time I spend online, making sure that I give more attention to real-life relationships. I look for ways to be intentional in my friendships, making sure to call, text, plan times to get together. I attempt to put my time with my husband and son before all other worldly responsibilities.

And I fail every day.

But that’s no excuse to give up. If I make a mess of the morning, lunch is a great time to reset my attitude for the afternoon. If I look back at the end of the day with regret, I make a plan to start the next morning in the right way:

  • Play outside in the sunshine.
  • Plan a project with glue and scissors.
  • Call that friend I haven’t talked to in ages.
  • Find a way to develop a new friendship.
  • Schedule a date-night with my husband.
  • Put away anything with a screen and focus on people.
  • Pray, dream, plan new ways to reach our community.

It’s too easy to live “carelessly, unthinkingly.”  It takes work to make the most of our days – and the minutes and hours that make up those days.  But it’s what we are called to do, and I pray that God will give me the grace to live that way.

I’m curious – what does the end of the school year/beginning of summer mean for your family?  How are you seeking to make the most of the days you have?

