911567_10152749226225244_135445170_n[1]This was our garden earlier this year, before we planted anything. It was bare, but full of lots of possibilities – dreams of red tomatoes, yellow corn, green beans. If I took you there today, you would see lots of vegetables – corn, cucumbers, squash, zucchini, beans, peppers, and more – and you would also see a lot of weeds.

Gardens take time. Gardens take work. They take money, effort, and sweat. And even then, you still don’t know what you will get. God really does bring the harvest, not us.

Five years ago today, I started this blog. I began writing here because I was in a lonely season, and reaching out through social media helped fill a little of the void of real-life friendships.

My “blogging journey” has had some fits and starts. I started out trying to write almost every day, but my life isn’t nearly interesting enough. After Henry was born, I gave up writing for over a year. But as the desire to put my thoughts down grew stronger again, I found my way back here.

I’ve considered giving up this blog and starting a new one, and yet I still come back to this same theme. Just as I craved that connectedness during my lonely season, I believe that others do too. We desperately need each other on our walk through this life.

We need to know that we are not crazy – someone else feels the same way we do, experiences the same things, has the same fears and anxieties.

If you are reading this, thank you. Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your busy day to spend it with me. Thank you for listening to my thoughts. Thank you for being my friend.

If you were here with me, I’d pour you a large cup of coffee and give you a large slice of banana bread. Until then, this little corner of cyber-space will have to do.

PS – Did you know you can subscribe to this blog and get an email each time I post something new? Look for the box in the column on the left. I also have a new tab at the top of this page if you would ever like to contact me. I’d love to hear from you!

