What is starting out as a light breeze moving through the people of my generation is turning into a full-force hurricane.  Tired of doing church “as usual,” tired of being told “that’s not the way we do things,” tired of religion that doesn’t impact real lives, we are studying the scriptures – the Word of God – and finding real religion that changes us, but also changes the way we relate to the world.

This is not business as usual. This is not church for Sunday only, but Christianity that impacts where we go, who we talk to, and how we relate to our world. Dare I say it – it is a new missions movement.

I grew up in a church with a strong emphasis on missions education. I participated in all of the age-appropriate activities offered. I sang at nursing homes at Christmas, mailed letters to missionary kids (MKs), and earned crown and scepter. My home church had the privilege to commission two of its own to international missions.

And while missions education is important (I occasionally contribute to a missions magazine), knowledge for the sake of knowing is not enough. Jesus didn’t command us to learn about other people who might be making disciples in some far-away place. He told us that we should be making disciples as we go about our daily lives.

Wherever we live.

Whatever we do.

As we are going. Make disciples.

It is a new breeze blowing through our people. This is not business as usual. We want to change the world, but we know that we’ve got to change some things about ourselves first.

I don’t yet know what this means, especially for myself. I want to be a part of this change that is brewing, but I’m not sure where to start. I’m asking God for guidance, seeking His face and direction. Will you join me?

The world is waiting.

