As I browsed Facebook one morning this week, a picture that was circulating reminded me of one of my favorite verses of Scripture, Philippians 1:6.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Christ Jesus.

I have so many days when I need Paul’s confidence in God’s working to spill over into my life. On those days when I seem to be spinning my wheels, moving in circles, and unsure of what to do next. On the days when everything and everyone seem to be working against me. On the days when I am working against me.

Here’s what I need to remember – it was God who began the work, and He is all-sufficient, all-powerful, and all-knowing.  The work is not mine, it’s God’s, and He’ll be the One to see it through to the end.  He is working it out in His timing and His way.

While we are waiting, God is transforming and growing us into the people He has called us to be – sold-out, submitted disciples.  The journey is the process, and not just the final outcome. God is always completing His work in our lives.

Just like Paul, we can be confident in this.

