Eph 2

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10

Do you believe that before the seas and flowers were formed, God also created the work that you would do in your life – and that it would be good?

I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of days that I don’t live that way. I treat the work that God has given me in this season of life as second-hand and not good enough.

When I’m cleaning bathrooms … ironing shirts … sitting in the car pick-up line … filling the slow-cooker…

When I would rather be seeking after things for my own glory, rather than doing the good works that God has created me for – and for me – for today.

Notice the first part of that verse – for we are HIS workmanship (emphasis mine). When I complain about the tasks in front of me, I need to be reminded (sometimes again and again) that He created me especially for this time and season, and for this place, this life, this work.

Doesn’t that set things in perspective?

God created me. I am His workmanship, his special creation, and He has also prepared good work for me to do. Today. In this place. In my home, my work my church, my community.

Do you need to be reminded of this truth today? Embrace your calling, whether you are a mom with little ones, an executive, a retiree, a teacher, or a doctor. God created you with your work in mind. Go forward today in that knowledge.

