InterruptionsI am tired. For the past few weeks, I’ve done more “business-y” work than I’ve done in a while. I started the week with a strict schedule. I knew what needed to be done, and I had (let’s be honest – have) a plan to get it done.

I am a planner. For years, I carried a thick Daytimer, complete with monthly calendars and daily schedules. I am a list-maker. I love to check off things when they are finished. And even though I have abandoned the Daytimer for a virtual system, I still keep a master calendar and daily lists. I may have a problem.

This week, I began working through the journal that goes with Kyle Idleman’s Not a Fan. Yesterday, our morning reflection asked this question:

Look ahead to what you have scheduled today. Are you willing to have Jesus interfere?

I am ashamed to admit that my first reaction was no. Interfere? Interrupt my carefully designed schedule? No, I can’t have that this week. Maybe next week, after this deadline has passed, but not this week. I need to get this finished!

I know that’s not the Sunday School answer. I know that we are always supposed to welcome any God-ordained interruptions into our day, but I just didn’t want any. I wanted God to go along with my plans.

It would be nice at this point if I told you that God created some meaningful moment during the day to teach me a lesson, but that’s not what happened. My day went along as I planned, and I finished what I needed to for that day.

But I don’t really think Jesus let me off the hook here. We also spent some time reflecting on Jeremiah 29:11:

For I know the plans I have for you; plans to prosper you and not to harm, plans to give you a hope and a future.

If I really believe what that verse says, then I have to know that God will help me finish all that He wants me to do this week. If I use my time wisely, and rely on His Spirit to guide my steps, He’ll make sure I have time for everything He has called me to do.

Even the interruptions.

