surely_i_have_a_delightful_inheritance[1]

Lord, you have assigned me my portion and my cup; you have made my lot secure. The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance. Psalm 16:5-6

As unflattering as it sounds, I have always been a “glass is half empty” kind of girl. I would love to be one of those people who see good in every situation, who always believes the best things are about to happen. But the truth is, I see too much reality (or made up disasters – whichever way you want to look at it) around every corner.

Unfortunately, this kind of thinking too often affects what I believe about what God can do.

I want to have the kind of faith to trust God with my future. I want to have the kind of faith that believes that He is giving me a “delightful inheritance.” The word delightful makes me think of childhood and playing and having fun. Of monkey bars, sand boxes, and imagination. I want to live with that kind of childlike abandon, knowing that God has established the boundaries of my life, and He wants to fill them with good things.

Reality will creep in. Bad things will happen. Sin abounds. But I want to live in faith that God really is the one who has “assigned me my portion,” and that He is making “my lot secure.”

That’s the kind of faith I want.

