A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity to hear author Leif Enger speak on the idea of story/storytelling as an apologetic to see the world. He said many wonderful things about the old stories of the Bible; how we need gratitude, persistence, and delight; and learning to sail “full and by” (keeping our sails full and sailing by the wind).

But the last sentence in my notes from that evening is one I keep returning to – our reasonable act of worship is to be available whenever the Master shows up.

I recently spent a few days with a friend who has a “two-year plan.” She knows where she wants to be in the next couple of years, what she wants to be doing, and what it will take to make that a reality.

Sometimes I find myself really envious of that.

We live through seasons when we are not really sure what’s next on God’s agenda. I’ve talked here before about “doing the next thing” – setting my heart on what God has for me for today, and not worrying so much about what He might have in store for tomorrow. I am trusting in His plan for now, even if that is dusting, cooking, and playing with trains, because that’s where He wants me today.

But I want to have the attitude Leif spoke of. Whenever God shows up, I want to be ready and available. I don’t want to miss the opportunities He puts in my path. I don’t want to be so consumed with what I want for this season of life that I miss something great God may have for us.

I don’t know what our next “big thing is,” but know that I want to be available whenever the Master calls.

