We chose not to teach our three-year-old the “Now I lay me down to sleep” and “God is great, God is good” prayers at bedtime and at meals. Don’t get me wrong – I learned those as a child, and I think there are some important truths found in both of them. We decided that it is best for him to learn at a very young age to use his own words when talking to God.

At bedtime, we ask him to thank God for things from his day – Miss Kim at the library, friends at church, grandparents, and anything else. Recently, he’s picked up on a little phrase that his dad often uses in prayers:

Thank you God for all our blessings. Amen.

How many times am I guilty of not really being thankful for all of my blessings in Christ? I have been given so, so much – maybe not all of the material things of the world … but maybe that’s a blessing in itself. I HAVE been given:

  • the unconditional love of my heavenly Father
  • right standing before God through the blood of Christ
  • full rights as a daughter of the one true God
  • the Scriptures, filled with all we need to know the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and all we need for right living
  • the Holy Spirit to direct and guide my life
  • a husband who loves me and who loves our son
  • a child in my “old age” who gives me joy and delight
  • friends who encourage and pray for me
  • the ability to think and reason
  • a love of music and words
  • vision to see the beauty of the changing seasons
  • taste buds to enjoy coffee and good food
  • and ALL my blessings, too many to count

I am overwhelmed when I think about all the good things God has given me – things I don’t deserve, things I didn’t earn, things that could easily have gone to someone else. I want to be reminded each day to thank God for ALL my blessings.

I think it would be great to start a chain of gratitude in the comments. What blessings are you most thankful for today?

