Facebook is covered up with people who hate the idea of stores being open on Thanksgiving day and others sharing links to sales and coupons for Thanksgiving and Black Friday. Some are posting TV schedules for Christmas movies, others are upset that anyone is even talking about Christmas yet.

We are definitely an opinionated people.

So, for what it’s worth, here’s my opinion about Thanksgiving:

Thanksgiving is not one day out of the year when we stress about turkey and side dishes and making a meal straight out of the pages of Southern Living, but a lifestyle to be lived all year long.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations. Psalm 100: 4-5

The years that I have enjoyed November and December the most are the years that I stressed less and intentionally chose to enjoy more.

Intentionality is the key. I can allow myself to get caught up in fretting and worrying over making things “perfect” and trying to please everyone (two things that will NEVER happen), or I can slow down and enjoy each day, each activity, each season. As Leif Enger said, I can look for the “shiny things.”

So, that’s my strategy going into the next four or so weeks. I’m going to look for the shiny things in the midst of the hustle and bustle. This morning, I see:

  • beautiful sunshine reflecting on the leaves in the yard.
  • the sounds of a three-year-old boy playing in the next room.
  • the smell of an apple pie candle.
  • the promise of afternoon coffee.

What about you? Can you find the “shiny things” around you today?

