We talked about this verse at a Bible study I attend, about how we are to run our own race and not someone else’s.

But sometimes, my own race doesn’t look that attractive. I go to church, to the carpool line at school, to conferences, to the grocery store, and I see women who are taller, thinner, more successful, more confident, better educated, and on and on.

I realized something when doing my Bible study this week – yes, we do take our eyes off Jesus and put them on ourselves when we focus on the perceived lives of others. But really, there’s a bigger issue at stake.

When I compare my life to someone else’s, I am setting up an idol in my heart and I begin to worship what I think they have.

When I start to feel sorry for myself, when I try to figure out how I can get things that God has NOT entrusted to me in this season, I begin to worship the idol of comparison.

There are things I can change. I can eat healthy, exercise, and maybe shed a few pounds. I cannot, however, grow six inches. I can use my writing skills to the best of my ability, but only God can give me the audience that He wants me to reach, whether that’s tens of people or thousands.

I can use the abilities and gifts that God has given me to study and learn more. I can learn to care for my family and my home better and more efficiently. I can become involved in the community where I live, even if it is not a particularly well-known or glamorous place.

And I can do all these things because God has called me to this.

This is my life. I am a stay-at-home mom of a 3 1/2-year-old boy. I am the wife of a minister. I do a little writing. Maybe someday I’ll be able to do more. But whatever doors God opens (or doesn’t), wherever He asks me to walk (or doesn’t), this is the race that He has given me to run.

For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2:10

Do you ever struggle with the idol of comparison? How can you train yourself to turn your focus back to Jesus and the life He has given you to live?

