yourlifeisyourartI know I have written about this before, but here’s the thing I can’t get out of my mind…

Your life is your art.

I hang around the periphery of art communities like The Rabbit Room, and there are plenty of days that I am jealous that I am not creating Art. You know – the stuff that deserves to be capitalized and italicized. Paintings, doodle art, poetry, novels … things people might buy, or might at least appreciate. I’ve jokingly said that God gave me plenty of talents, just not ones that make money.

But, here’s the thing. We (all of us – you and me and the guy down the street) are created in the image of the Great Creator. If we are made in God’s image, and if He is in the business of creating (and He is – just look out the window), then we are all creative in some way.

Can you think of five things you have created today? I have shopped for my family (creatively using our budget and buying ingredients the feed us well this week), turned what was supposed to be a work-morning for me into a fun snow day for my preschooler, played in the snow, written a few sentences, and finished routine household chores that seem ever-so-boring but create the space we need to live our lives.

I can’t stress this enough. Whatever you are doing today, this is your art. This is the encouragement I hang on to when it seems like the mundane, everyday business is taking over. When it seems like I can’t carve out time to do the things I really want to do because the laundry is piling up, the floors are muddy, and my list of errands is a mile long.

This life is my art.

How are you living your art today? Please share in the comments, and let’s encourage one another to continue to create lives that glorify God.

