1898973_10153812666855244_1315917819_n[1]It’s been quite a week around here. Mom (that’s me) has been sick. When mom is sick, things just don’t work right. Add to that an extremely busy season for our little family, and add a fall by an extended family member for whom we have care, and I really, really didn’t need to be sick.

I didn’t have time to be sick.

But there I was, spending most of Tuesday in bed, calling people and begging off commitments and turning down fun invitations. Today, I spent the entire morning at urgent care to get a shot and an antibiotic that I could have prescribed for myself in five minutes.

And then the preschooler didn’t take a nap. He always takes a nap, but not today, the one day I really needed him to. The to-do list continues to pile up, obligations will have to be met somehow, and all while sneezing and blowing my nose.

But in all of this, I have heard God’s voice very clearly:

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30

Maybe, just maybe, in the middle of all of the craziness (and there has been a good bit of that around these parts lately), God is calling me to rest. To rest in Him, to take his burden and give Him mine, to allow Him to calm the pace, erase some commitments and reschedule others.

As part of my year of “intention,” maybe God is asking me to be more intentional about laying down my agenda for His, trusting His timing in the small things, and being faithful in what I can do.

Maybe instead of a wasted week, this is actually an opportunity to rest.

Have you ever had one of “those” weeks? What has God taught you through slowing down?

