Rom828This has been an odd week, filled with kidney stones (not mine), very sick newborns (also not mine), and stress and worry (that would be mine).

On the positive side, I now know my way around our city’s new hospital. On the negative side, people I love have been sick and in pain.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

Right now, in this minute, as I sit in a hospital room waiting for news, it’s hard to see how this promise is true. How can a kidney stone work for our good and God’s glory? How can a sick newborn, with her worried parents and grandparents, bring glory to God?

The thing is, even though I don’t know how, I cling to the truth in this promise. Even though we are still waiting for test results and outcomes, I believe that God is working out His purpose. I believe that our testimony through these trials may lead someone to know Him and believe in Christ. I believe that God is teaching us greater things, even now. I believe that He is drawing us to Himself.

I believe Lord, help me in my unbelief.

