prov 1125Last week, I shared that we are stopping the busyness, adding some margins to our life. I am asking God to speak in the open spaces and clearly show me how He wants to use me in His Kingdom. The last time I found myself waiting on God’s direction, He led me to more focused outreach in the community around my church. As I am waiting for Him now, I am drawn to this verse in Proverbs:

A generous man will prosper; he who refreshes others will himself be refreshed. Proverbs 11:25

I believe that when I am in a season of needing fresh direction from God, the best way to get it is to give more of myself to others.

I want the margins I have created for the next few months to be opportunities to spend more time with the people God has placed in my life. Certainly, that starts with my family. But we can’t be responsible to the calling of God and stay hidden away in our own little retreat for the next three months. We have to extend ourselves to our church family, our neighbors, and others in the community.

We have to be generous with our time.

We have to step out of our comfort zones.

We have to lend a helping hand.

We have to give of ourselves.

Even when it is inconvenient, even when we are tired, even when we have something else to do, if God puts someone in our path, I hope that this will be the summer we learn to stop, change direction, and allow God to use us.

What about you? Have you found this truth to be true? How can you give refreshment to someone else today?

