Favorite Things Fall 2014Next week is fall break here, and I am super-excited to attend Hutchmoot for a second year in a row, so I am going to take a break from posting next Wednesday. And, since my mind is already on fall break, and since we have added a little more busyness to our calendar for the next few weeks, I thought I might just share a list with you of some of my current favorite things, in no particular order.

  1. Starbucks Salted Caramel Mochas. Yes, I know the pumpkin spice latte is the fan-favorite, but how can you resist chocolate, caramel, sugar, and sea salt – and coffee –  in one cup?
  2. Dr. Teal’s Lavender Epsom Salt. How old am I again? All I know is that it makes for a great bath in the evenings, really does make my arthritis better, and is inexpensive.
  3. Betty Crocker cookie mix. Sometimes little boys (and moms!) want to make cookies, but there just isn’t time to make them from scratch. I keep several bags of these mixes on hand. All they take is butter or oil and an egg, and you have really great cookies in about 15 minutes.
  4. Walking in Grace and Beauty. Cyndi Spivey is a fashion blogger for women over 40. Although I’m not quite 40 yet, I am almost there, and I really appreciate Cyndi’s approach to the latest trends.
  5. Fall TV, except not network. We watch very little ABC, NBC, and CBS, but we are watching a lot of Doctor Who, Doc Martin, and Father Brown.

**Bonus – I absolutely love Story Warren. They never fail to encourage and inspire me in my parenting and in my own pursuit of a creative life. So, I am terribly excited that they agreed to publish a post I had written about what it really means to teach Henry to sit in big church. You can read it here.

What are your “must haves” this fall? Please share so I can enjoy them too!

