During a somewhat impromptu group hymn-sing at Hutchmoot 2014, I was reminded of the richness in the lyrics of “Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing,” in particular, this section:

designFrankly, I’m afraid that most of us might only think of Ebenezer Scrooge when we hear this verse, but the idea of raising an Ebenezer comes straight out of the Bible, from 1 Samuel 7:12:

Then Samuel took a stone and set it up between Mizpah and Shen and called its name Ebenezer; for he said, ‘Till now the Lord has helped us.’

The Ebenezer stone was set up to help the people remember, to remember all the ways that God had helped them as they fought against their enemies.

As I stood in the middle of this large group of artists, lifting our voices in praise and testimony to the God we serve, I was undone by the goodness of God in my own life and the ways that He has helped me.

That moment in time was an Ebenezer stone of sorts – a time at the altar of remembrance of all that God had done to gather us there.

But now that I am home, I see Ebenezer stones, moments of remembrance, in my daily life that remind me of God’s goodness and grace.

When I fix a snack and juice for my son, I am reminded of how he is the answer to many years of prayer for a child.

When I look around my home, I am reminded that God cares for me even more than the sparrows, and He has given me abundantly more than I need.

When I stand in a congregation of believers, I am reminded that His Word does not return void.

When I hear beautiful music or eat a delicious meal or read a captivating book, I am reminded that God is the Great Creator, and He makes all things beautiful.

God creates opportunities for us to remember His goodness and grace in our lives, providing us with Ebenezer stones, ways to remember that it is only by His help that we have come this far.

