I am writing this the day after my first chemo treatment. Last week was filled with tests and outpatient surgery (and recovery following surgery). Today, I have been bone-tired from the medicine that was pumped into my veins.

Yes, cancer is most certainly a physical battle. But before the physical battle even began, Satan began to battle for my mind.

I am tempted to doubt, to fear, to be anxious. I have had a range of emotions, faith-filled one moment and tempted to self-pity the next.

The way out of temptation has always been the same – combat the lies in our minds with the Truth. This past Sunday at my church, we sang a favorite song of mine that has new meaning these days (and is on my chemo playlist!).

Some midnight hour if you should find
You’re in a prison in your mind
Reach out and praise, defy those chains
And they will fall in Jesus’ name

We bless Your name, we bless Your name
We give You honor, give You praise
You are the Life, the Truth, the Way
We bless Your name, we bless Your name

Whatever battle you are facing today, combat the lies of the Enemy with the Truth of Christ.

