Through this season of cancer, I am asking God to show me very clearly the lessons that He would have me learn. I firmly believe that He will bring us through to the other side of this with something new to share.

One of those lessons struck home last week as I was recovering from chemo #3. On the hardest days, the days when I feel the worst, when the nausea and the chemo brain take over, it is hard to pray, to have faith for myself.

As I struggled through this last week, I realized how very, very, very important it is that I have friends who are praying for me on those days, who have faith on the days that I do not. I cannot emphasize enough how much that thought lifted me up and carried me through some difficult hours and days.

On those days, I got messages like this,

Thinking of you today, my dear friend and kindred spirit. You are so strong! Love you.

even though I didn’t feel strong at all. Or this,

I definitely have faith for God to sustain during this season and heal you completely. Never for a second when praying have I not felt that very distinctly.

at a time when I really needed to hear it.

We know we are to pray for one another. Our church, possibly like yours, has a weekly prayer list and a weekly prayer meeting. But if a friend is going through a difficult season, how often do we realize that our prayers and our faith may be what carries them through the hardest days?

“As long as Moses held up his hands, the Israelites were winning, but whenever he lowered his hands, the Amalekites were winning. When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset” (Exodus 17:11-12, NIV).

Much like Aaron and Hur, my friends hold up my hands when I can’t do it for myself. Like Sam and Frodo in The Lord of the Rings trilogy, they can’t carry my burden for me, but they do carry me.

Pray for your friends who are going through difficult seasons, and then let them know that you are praying for them, believing in faith that God has heard and will answer. You never know how your faith may encourage them.

