Drink your wine. Laugh from your gut. Burden your moments with thankfulness. Be as empty as you can be when that clock winds down. Spend your life. And if time is a river, may you leave a wake.― N.D. Wilson

Today is my 39th birthday. The truth is, I really don’t mind getting older. In fact, while I don’t think I’ve “found myself” (What does that mean, anyway?), I definitely feel more settled than I did in my younger adult years.

Don’t get me wrong – I have a lot of growing left to do. I still have days when I feel quite sorry for myself (thanks, cancer), not feeling well most of the time causes me to struggle with patience, and there are a whole host of other areas where I need to give some serious prayer and attention.

I often think about life after chemo, and believe me, I am very thankful that such a thought is a real possibility. I have plans, and I am ready to get about them. And that’s why I loved the N.D. Wilson quote when I came across it last week.

God has given me one life to spend for Him – just one life. And I believe that He calls me to live it with abandon. Life is not safe, so why should I live as if I can protect myself from everything that might harm me? I want to live for Him, and to spend my life in such a way that I can serve God with all I am, leave my mark, and enjoy this amazingly complex world that He has graciously created.

Hug your people, call your friends, laugh hard, and sing loudly. Spend your life today for Him, and give thanks for all His good gifts.

