Praise be to the Lord my Rock, who trains my hands for war, my fingers for battle. Psalm 144:1

Why are those of us who know Christ too often afraid to approach the throne of grace with boldness in our prayers?

I have asked myself this question several times over the past four months. I listen to myself pray, and I listen to the prayers of others, and I have been convicted that, too often, we talk to God as if we believe we are inconveniencing Him, as if we don’t believe our request is really all that important.

And yet, Psalm 144 would teach us a different way. David comes to God with boldness, knowing the mighty power that God has to change his circumstances for the better.

Part your heavens, O Lord, and come down; touch the mountains, so that they smoke. Psalm 144:5

I want to learn to pray like David, with power and authority! Knowing that God owes me nothing, but graciously has given me all I need for life in Christ. Knowing that He is capable of anything and everything, and while I may not know His mind and His intentions, I can know His heart – a heart that gives good gifts to His children.

I will sing a new song to you, O God; on the ten-stringed lyre I will make music to you, to the One who gives victory to kings, who delivers his servant David from the deadly sword. Psalm 144:9-10

When Henry, who is four years old, asks me for something, he doesn’t begin with excuses – “if it’s convenient,” “if you aren’t doing something else,” “if you can spare it” – he just asks for what he wants. How much more does God want His children to ask Him boldly for what they need! He is our good and kind Father.

We need to pray knowing, expecting that God will act. He keeps His promises, and He promises to always hear us when we call on Him. Hebrews 4:16 says, “Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.” He may act today, and it may be sometime down the road, but He will always answer. We can come to Him on that authority, and we can boldly ask for all that we need.

Blessed are the people of whom this is true; blessed are the people whose God is the Lord. Psalm 144:15

