I’ve written before about waiting and the Christian life, and this week I read back through some of those posts, thinking about the days between now and my next doctor’s appointment. Because now, we wait.

We wait to see what tests and scans will need to be run.

We wait to see if the chemo has worked.

We wait to see what kind of surgery I will have and when it will need to be performed.

We wait to see when radiation will start and how long it will last following surgery.

These are some great big unknowns in our family life right now. We can’t make many plans for the summer, because we can’t know about my health and treatment. And for someone who treats planning like a recreational hobby, this is a pretty challenging time.

So I find that I need to speak Truth to myself right now. If you are in a place of waiting, I offer this as encouragement to you as well.

I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry.  He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.  He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.  Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord. Psalm 40:1-3

And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised. Hebrews 6:15

Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord. Psalm 27:14

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly. Psalm 5:3

The best way to begin is by being faithful to what He has set before you right now.  Sense the stirring in your soul as God’s Spirit quickens you to see what He’s called you to do today.  Then pursue it at the expense of all else.  Unashamedly.  Diligently.  Faithfully. – Priscilla Shirer, “The Resolution for Women”

