Sing to him; sing praises to him; tell of all his wondrous works! Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the Lord rejoice! Seek the Lord and his strength; seek his presence continually! Remember the wondrous works that he has done, his miracles and the judgments he uttered. 1 Chronicles 16:9-12

God has done so much for me, and throughout my cancer journey I have wanted to give Him the glory He rightly deserves. I didn’t do anything to get well on my own. Yes, I submitted myself to the treatment prescribed by my doctor. Yes, I endured a lot of terrible side effects. But it was God who chose to heal me, just as He chooses “ultimate healing” for other cancer patients – to wake up face to face with Him in glory and never deal with pain or sickness again.

But God has been kind to allow me more time to live life on earth – to spend time with my family, to enjoy His marvelous creation, to develop friendships, and to follow His will in obedience.

All of that comes from His kindness to me, and I want to make sure that He receives all the glory, not me – none of it is because of my effort but because of His grace!

Cancer has taught me to put the most important things first – to first focus on my relationship with the Lord, to love on my husband and son, to really listen to others, and to pursue those things that He is asking of me. I don’t want to settle for second best in any of those areas. I want to make sure that God’s kindness to extend my time on earth is not wasted, but that I make the best use of whatever years He may grant.

I will begin radiation next Monday, and I want to use those weeks to pray and consider how this might practically work out for me. How does God want me to give Him glory in these areas? How can I make changes so that I keep the first things first? How can I keep myself from being distracted by things that either don’t matter or are for someone else to pursue?

These are big questions, and I don’t know all of the answers. I do know this – I need to publicly praise God today and thank Him for His kindness. What about you? What has God, out of His kindness, done for you recently?

