11637990_10155670020815244_60203267_n[1]

Henry in the middle of ten rows of potatoes

So, for the handful of you who care about what happened with our garden, here’s the short version:

We had a lot of potatoes, very little of anything else, and we said our benediction and closed the gate early this year.

We had some “helpers” plant the potatoes for us, and they went a bit overboard – ten rows overboard, to be exact. And then it rained A LOT for our area earlier this summer, and some of our plants rotted while the weeds flourished.

And my sweet gardening friend did the bulk of the work while her half-lame partner (me) wandered around the garden complaining.

All in all, it was not the sweetest of times. But as we sped hastily out of the gate for the final time, we said what we always say – there’s always next year.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

By the time you read this, I will only have three more radiation treatments to go. I would get excited, but that takes energy, and energy is the one thing I really lack at this point in my treatments. I haven’t (yet) had any kind of horrible skin reaction, but I am more tired than is normal, and I try to conserve my energy for the things that really matter.

Next Monday will be the end, and I am already turning my mind toward the fall. I intend to enjoy every ounce of fallishness I can squeeze out of the season. I completely missed out on winter and spring 2015, and I missed some of the best parts of summer 2015, so I don’t plan on missing fall. I have already changed the wreath on the door, I have fall candles ready to burn, and I am dreaming of pumpkin spice lattes. Who’s with me?

I also have some plans for this space for the fall. In the next few weeks, I plan to start a series of posts about some of the things that God has taught me (and is still teaching me) this year. I am hesitant to call it “lessons from cancer,” because I want anyone who is walking through a difficult season to feel like it applies to them, as well as to people who may be caring for someone in crisis.

I’ll keep working on the title, but when I do begin (probably after some of this fatigue dies down), I would love to have help getting the word out. So please share this blog with your friends who might be interested, and subscribe through email if you haven’t already to stay up-to-date.

Until then, I’ll be dreaming of newly sharpened pencils (Name that movie, and HT to my friend Liz who put that in my head.)

