11998657_10155977383835244_1748152904_n[1]A lot of people helped us during chemo and surgery. We had friends who cooked meals, watched Henry, cleaned our house, sent cards and texts, brought gifts, and the list goes on and on. People prayed, and they asked others to pray.

So last week, a handful of those friends called and said, “Let’s go celebrate!” So we did.

We ate dinner together at a wonderful local restaurant called Colby’s, and then we made our way to Studio Slant to do something I had never, ever done before.

I painted a picture! And while it is not a masterpiece, it helped me mark a turning point in my “brave” journey. This year has been about facing some great fears, about looking the possibility of death in the face, about giving up any sense of being in control of my life, about putting one foot in front of the other day by day.

But as I think about what I have learned this year, I could stand to be a little braver in my day-to-day life. I have never painted a picture before because I know I’m not very good at it, so I don’t try.

In fact, there are a lot of things that I don’t try because of the fear of failure.

So, moving forward, I want to be braver. I want to try new things. I want to show my son that it’s okay to try something new, even when it’s scary. I want to demonstrate my trust in God, in the big things like cancer, but also in the little things.

And to all my friends, near and far, who have walked with us through this year – THANK YOU. Each and every act was treasured.

As for the saints in the land, they are the excellent ones, in whom is all my delight. Psalm 16:3

