One of the things I am learning is how much time it takes to recover from breast cancer treatment. I had four months of some pretty strong chemo, surgery 6 1/2 weeks later, and six weeks of daily radiation treatments after healing from the surgery.

My last radiation treatment was almost a month ago. And you know what?

I am still tired.

Not constantly, no. But I still struggle with keeping up the same pace of life that I did a year ago. I feel this expectation that I should return to “life as usual.” And yes, a lot of that is wanting to please people and not let anyone (including myself) down and the fear of missing out.

But when my body and my mind have had enough, I have no choice but to stop. When I have an exceptionally busy day or two, I will hit the proverbial wall and crash on the couch for a day or so. Those days remind me of all we have been through this last year, and that this recovery is not over. It can take months, sometimes over a year, to fully recover from these treatments.

On those hard days, I need grace from myself and from my friends. I need understanding when I can’t keep up with the calendar and need to take a day off. I’m trying to limit myself, but it’s hard, and I need to know it’s okay when I have to turn down an invitation or back out of an event.

But even in this, I am reminded that God’s grace is sufficient.

Are you tired? Worn out? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me – watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly. Matthew 11:28-30, The Message

